top of page
Search
  • Connor Bish

Accordion Rhapsody VR

Updated: Apr 12, 2020

Accordion Rhapsody was a project I worked on during the 2019 UAT Summer Game Jam. The theme for the Jam was “Abstract Art”, so the game's concept was a little out there.




What is It?

In Accordion Rhapsody, the player must use an accordion to shoot note shaped enemies using different colors of paint. Since the game was in virtual reality, the player must look 360 degrees around themselves to locate the enemies. Each note can only be defeated by its corresponding paint color. After the game-play is complete, the room should be coated in paint splatters, creating a room sized piece of abstract art.





My Role

My role on the project was primarily as a sound designer. Since the player had to squeeze the accordion to shoot, I wanted the accordion to play in time with when the player shot. However, instead of just making a generic accordion noise during every shot, I wanted the accordion to play in semblance to the background music. I essentially created a supporting accordion part for the song Bambalina by Carl Fenton. During game play both the song and the accompanying accordion part would play as separate audio cues, with the accordion part being muted. When the player would use the accordion this part would mute and un-mute themselves. During my time with this project, I learned a lot about the VR tools in Unreal, as well as how to control audio cues through blueprint.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page