top of page
Search
  • Connor Bish

Guardians' Legacy

Updated: Apr 16, 2020

Guardians’ Legacy is an old school turn based RPG in the style of a PlayStation 1 era game. Its main draw was the node system, which allowed every skill to be customized in numerous aspects. I acted as a designer on the project for its entire duration.





Semester 1

During my time on the project, I learned a lot about the pre production process. I had to map out the game’s events, balance the game’s first encounters with only a pen and paper, and create asset lists for everyone. The progress we made during our first semester was incredibly gratifying and rewarding. I became really good at creating compromises between all of the designer’s ideas.



*SAMPLE*



Semester 2

In our second semester we finished up a lot of our pre production. During this time, I created UI mock-ups for the game’s journal and node system. I also created paper maps for a lot of the main hub city’s buildings. Near the end of the semester I finally stepped into the engine to grey-box the levels I would make in the next semester.


Semester 3

In our final semester I created two levels. Those being the ice cavern, and the starting village. Throughout the semester I had to work on balancing our different encounters, and adding to the levels whenever new props were made.







Conclusion

While we did not complete all of our development goals, I still think we accomplished a lot considering the relative inexperience of the team and small amount of development time. Personally, not only did I learn a lot, but I made some great friends during my time with this project.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page