top of page
Search
  • Connor Bish

Unnamed RPG Demo

Updated: Apr 15, 2020

A small demo I made in RPG maker. Everything on screen has flavor text, allowing me to work on my writing skills.

Overview

I have always liked messing around with projects in RPG maker. Because of it’s rather simple event system, it is easy to just take an idea and put it on paper. I wanted to experiment with the concept of flavor text. Even though I feel it is more important to show rather than tell, I feel having the flavor text as an optional element adds a lot for players looking to get more out of the game’s story.


Pre-Production

Level Design Document


Pacing Map


Paper Map


The Process

Milestones

This entire level was made over the course of 6 weeks. Each milestone shows off what was accomplished during each week. Alongside the amount of hours it took to complete each task.


Peer Review

Throughout creating the level, I had a handful of friends play-test the level in various states of production. The biggest criticism stated by the majority of play-testers was how the mandatory story elements were told. Many scenes simply featured characters talking through speech bubbles with the characters standing statically.


Reacting to Peer Review

In response I not only modified the script to remove certain elements of filler dialogue, but also added small animated sequences. These sequences helped make the overall game-play feel more lively.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page